WHAT TO DO AFTER A WORKPLACE INJURY IN ORANGE COUNTY, FL
If you were injured on-the-job, you need to take the following steps to protect your rights:
- Seek emergency treatment for your injuries if necessary
- If it is a non-emergency, make sure to schedule an appointment with a physician or medical group authorized/pre-approved by your employer. This will ensure your treatment gets covered.
- When you visit the doctor, be very clear and detailed when describing the nature of your injuries and how and where they occurred.
- Collect any evidence that proves your injury is work-related: take pictures of the accident site as well as your physical injuries. Write down the name/s and contact info of anyone who witnessed the accident
- Report your injury to your boss within 30 days from the date of the accident (the sooner the better!) If you have a work-related illness, make sure to report it within 30 days from the date you started having symptoms.
- Complete A First Report of Injury form, ask for a copy for your records
- File a Petition for Benefits (PFB) form with the Office of Judges of Compensation Claims
- Keep copies of all medical bills, paystubs, etc.
YOUR EMPLOYER’S OBLIGATIONS
Under Florida law, your employer must inform their insurance carrier of your workplace injury or illness within seven days of your notification. This is done by filing a First Report of Injury with the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation and the insurance company. Within three days of reporting the injury to the carrier, you should receive a packet containing a copy of the accident report and information pertaining to the claims process.